2017 County Board/School Board Results

Arlington County Democratic Committee Announces Caucus Winners:
Erik Gutshall for County Board and Monique O’ for School Board

Arlington, VA – May 13, 2017 — The Arlington County Democratic Committee (ACDC) is pleased to announce its nominee and endorsee for a seat on the Arlington County Board and a seat on the Arlington School Board. The unassembled caucus, which was held over three days at locations across Arlington, welcomed a record-breaking 5972 voters who stepped up to demonstrate their commitment to maintaining Arlington’s world-class education system, its decades of careful community planning, and its economic strength and diversity.

Both winners were chosen by Arlington Democratic voters using instant runoff voting, which ensures that each has majority support. Full results are listed below:

COUNTY BOARD: Erik Gutshall won the ACDC County Board Caucus, earning the party’s nomination for this fall’s election. All four candidates have committed tremendous time and resources to our community in the form of civil service, volunteer work, and their progressive campaigns; thank you to Peter Fallon, Kim Klingler, and Vivek Patil.

Erik Gutshall received a 2,877 votes out of 5972 votes in the first round and a total of 3,209 votes – or 55.2% of the vote in the second round. Full results are listed below:

  Peter Fallon Erik Gutshall Kim Klingler Vivek Patil Undetermined
1st Round 945 2,877 1,116 986 49
2nd Round n/a 3,209 1,416 1,189 n/a


SCHOOL BOARD: Monique O’Grady won the ACDC School Board Caucus, earning the party’s endorsement for this fall’s election. We are proud of all three of our candidates who ran vigorous issue-oriented campaigns; thank you to James Lander  and Maura McMahon.

Monique O’Grady received 2,743 votes in the first round and a total of 3,441 votes – or 59.4% in the second round.  Full results are listed below:

  James Lander Maura McMahon Monique O’Grady Undetermined
1st Round 2,119 965 2,743 143
2nd Round 2,336 n/a 3,441 n/a


Arlington County Democratic Chairman Kip Malinosky issued the following statement:

“Local politics is where Democratic values matter most because our elected officials make decisions every day that help shape our neighborhoods, our schools, and our sense of community. We are grateful to all the candidates and the voters who came out over three days to select our nominees.  Erik Gutshall and Monique O’Grady are committed to making Arlington a more inclusive community, with great schools and opportunities for all. We can’t wait to elect them in November.”

For more information on the winning candidates, visit the campaigns’ websites:

School Board:   https://www.moniqueogrady.org/

County Board:  https://erikgutshall.ngpvanhost.com/