top of page


Arlington County Democrats Vote and Help Elect Democrats State-wide in Record Numbers – Again!

Arlington voted in record numbers yesterday for Democratic leadership. At the local level, Arlington re-elected Tim Kaine to the U.S. Senate, Don Beyer to the U.S. House of Representatives and Barbara Kanninen to the Arlington School Board, and elected Matt de Ferranti to the Arlington County Board.

Working through the Arlington Democrats “Beyond Arlington” program and home-grown grassroots organizations, Arlington volunteers also spread the blue wave across the Commonwealth, through thousands of hours spent registering voters, canvassing, calling, texting, and writing postcards to voters.  The record number of volunteers and the record number of votes is a strong rebuke of the Trump-GOP’s extreme agenda and divisive rhetoric. These volunteers made all the difference in helping elect Jennifer Wexton, Elaine Luria, and Abigail Spanberger -- and turning the House blue.

Jill Caiazzo, Arlington Democrats Chair, said, "Today we affirmed that the Democratic message is powerful and speaks to the values of Arlingtonians, Virginians, and Americans. The record civic engagement nationwide proves that every vote counts, every person matters, and that sanity will prevail in our great country."

With respect to the Arlington County Board race in particular, she noted, “Arlington Democrats thank John Vihstadt for his service to our community. Today, a decent person lost, and a decent person also won – the fact that both statements can still be true in Arlington should give us all hope for the future of our democracy.”

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page