top of page


Barbara Favola, Adele McClure, and Parisa Dehghani-Tafti win Democratic Primaries in Arlington; Unity Event on July 5

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 20, 2023 Press Contact: communications@arldemsold.local

Barbara Favola, Adele McClure, and Parisa Dehghani-Tafti win Democratic Primaries in Arlington; Unity Event on July 5

Arlington, VA – On Tuesday, June 20, 2023, Arlington County held a primary to determine the Democratic nominees for the November 2023 General Election. The Arlington County Democratic Committee (“Arlington Democrats”) congratulates the following winners: ·         State Senate District 40 – Barbara Favola. Barbara A. Favola won the Democratic nomination for State Senate District 40. Favola won 20,658 (83.75%) of the 24,666 votes cast for State Senate candidates. James A DeVita won 4,008 (20,658%).

·         House of Delegates District 2 - Adele McClure. Adele Y. McClure won the Democratic nomination for House of Delegates District 2. McClure won 6,042 (89.64%) of the 6,740 votes cast. Kevin S. Saucedo-Broach won 698 (10.36%). Saucedo-Broach withdrew from the race but his name remained on the ballot. 

·         Commonwealth’s Attorney - Parisa Dehghani-Tafti. Parisa Dehghani-Tafti won the Democratic nomination for Commonwealth’s Attorney for Arlington County and the City of Falls Church. Dehghani-Tafti won 15,387 (55.98%) of the 27,486 votes cast. Josh D. Katcher won 12,099 (44.02%). 

Arlington Democrats note the following races continue to be tabulated: Arlington County Sheriff. Of 26,633 votes cast so far: Jose R. Quiroz, Jr., 10,565 (39.67%); Wanda R. Younger, 8,933 (33.54%); and James A. M. Herring, 7,135 (26.79%). County Board. After the preliminary announcement of the first round count, no candidate has received sufficient votes to win either of the two open County Board seats in a Ranked-Choice Voting (RCV) system. The threshold percentage to win one open seat in the first round was over 33.3%. Of the 27,069 votes cast: ·         Susan R. Cunningham, 6,747 (25%) 

· Natalie U. Roy, 6,507 (24%)

· Maureen E. Coffey, 6,037 (22%)

· Julius D. “JD” Spain, Sr., 5,363 (20%),

· G. O. “Tony” Weaver, 1,385 (5%)

· Jonathan Dromgoole, 1,030 (4%)

This year’s Democratic Primary marked the first time Arlington County implemented RCV. Under RCV, the two candidates who receive the most votes after multiple rounds of tallying win the nomination for the two open County Board seats. Arlington County’s Department of Voter Registration & Elections will begin tallying vote totals after the mail-in ballot deadline on Friday, June 23, at 12:00 p.m. The results will be announced upon completion of the vote tallying process.  Arlington Democrats Chair Steve Baker said, “Congratulations to our 2023 Democratic nominees, and thank you to everyone who stepped forward to run. We started with 23 candidates–the largest number I have seen.”  “I extend my congratulations to our Constitutional office nominees, both returning and new. Congratulations to our returning General Assembly delegation and our new Delegate nominee, Adele McClure! We look forward to learning the final results of the RCV tabulation over the coming days and to electing our County Board nominees in November,” said Baker. The following candidates did not have a primary opponent and will appear on the November ballot: Adam Ebbin, State Senate District 39; Patrick Hope, House of Delegates District 1; Alfonso Lopez, House of Delegates District 3; Paul Ferguson, Arlington County Clerk of the Court; Carla de la Pava, Arlington County Treasurer; and Kim Klingler, Arlington County Commissioner of the Revenue. The next monthly meeting of the Arlington Democrats on Wednesday, July 5, will feature a Democratic unity event at 7:00 p.m. at Lubber Run Community Center.  *Results reflect vote totals as of 11:00 p.m. ET Tuesday, June 20. 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page